Home | Contact Us | FAQ | Search & Site Map | Link to Us
Sign In | Join | Other 45 Sites in Network
Home
Discussion Groups
General
GeneralPortable MacsHardwareNetworking
Applications
Mac ApplicationsEudoraFirefox / MozillaInternet ExplorerOutlook ExpressMS OfficeEntourageExcelPowerPointWordVirtual PCMedia PlayerOther MS Products
Programming
Mac ProgrammingCodeWarriorPerl
Country Specific
Australian Mac GroupUK Mac Group

Mac Forum / General / General / December 2007



Tip: Looking for answers? Try searching our database.

Mac mail security question

Thread view: 
Enable EMail Alerts  Start New Thread
Thread rating: 
Joe - 29 Dec 2007 18:27 GMT
I got a notice from Mac mail (my .mac account) today that it couldn't verify the
certificate for mail.mac.com. I looked at the certificate and it gave
Verisign as the issuer, then said the cerificate was valid.

That doesn't make sense to me, but I'm not as clued in as I might be
about this kind of thing. Does that make sense to anyone here?

Thanks

Joe
Signature

To email me shift the letters in my address back one

Joe - 29 Dec 2007 19:00 GMT
> I got a notice from Mac mail (my .mac account) today that it
> couldn't verify the certificate for mail.mac.com. I looked at the
[quoted text clipped - 3 lines]
> That doesn't make sense to me, but I'm not as clued in as I might be
> about this kind of thing. Does that make sense to anyone here?

I just chatted with mac support (http://www.apple.com/support/dotmac/mail/)
and wound up with a bad feeling. Here's the transcript. If anyone
knows something about this I'd appreciate a clue.

   You are chatting with Don, an Apple Expert

   Hi, my name is Don. Welcome to Apple!

   Joe Halpin: I got an error from Mac mail that said it couldn't
   verify the certificate for mail.mac.com, when I looked at the
   details on the certificate it said it was issued by Verisign, and
   was valid, what's up?

   Joe Halpin: Also, am I talking to someone from apple or someone
   at akamai.net?

   Don: You are chatting with .Mac support at Apple. I have not see
   this issue regarding a certificate from Verisign, where was it
   addressed from?

   Joe Halpin: I don't know what you mean. It appeared as an error
   dialog when Mac mail started.

   Joe Halpin: Also, why is the certificate for this chat from
   akamai.net?

   Joe Halpin: And if you're from apple, which am I connected to
   sales.liveperson.net?

   Don: I am not sure why you received the verisign certificate,
   does this only occur when opening mail application and not when
   you check web mail?

   Don: Yes I am with Apple, I am checking your other questions.

   Joe Halpin: It's happened while the application was running as
   well.

   Don: I'll be right with you.

   ...

   Don: Thanks for waiting, we have seen this before randomly coming
   up and our team is investigating the issue. Currently I do not
   have a resolution for you, and do apologize for this and am sorry
   any inconvenience this has caused.

   Joe Halpin: Ok, but as to my other questions, given that I'm
   asking about security, can you tell me why, if you're from Apple,
   your certificate is from akamai.net, and why I'm connected to
   sales.liveperson.net rather than apple.com?

   Don: Checking into this one moment please.

   Don: What you are seeing in this chat is part of our
   infrastructure for chat, I am sorry as I cannot discuss that
   further as that relates to internal Apple information.

I'd love to know if this makes sense.

Thanks

Joe
Signature

To email me shift the letters in my address back one

Bruce Barnett - 30 Dec 2007 12:59 GMT
> I'd love to know if this makes sense.

You haven't provided enough information to really diagnose the problem.
For instance, you say the certificate was signed by verisign.
That's not enough info.

What you really need is to look at the certificate, find out who it
was issued to (Common Name or CN), and then find out who signed it.

For instance, when I go to https:/gmail.com and examine the
certificate, this is what I discover.

The common name is mail.google.com
The certificate was issued by Thawte SGC CA

Thawte's certificate was signed by Verisign Class 3 Primary
Certificate Authority.

In simple words, there are three certificates (public/private keys) involved.
       1) mail.google.com
       2) Thawte
       3) Verisign.

2 signed #1, and 3 signed #2

#3 should be installed in your browser by default.

Now look at the certificate you get, and trace the details.  A fake
site can generate certificate #1, and sign it themselves, and pretend
to be anyone. But unless it's signed by one of the "official"
certificate authorities - such as Certificate #3 above), it's
meaningless.

BTW - I'm using Firefox on a Linux box, and I have about 100 "built-in"
certificates. I don't have a .Mac account, so I cannot check out your
problem.

Signature

Posted via a free Usenet account from http://www.teranews.com

Joe - 30 Dec 2007 15:52 GMT
...

Thanks, I'll check this out next time it shows up.

Joe
Signature

To email me shift the letters in my address back one

Sharon Fink - 30 Dec 2007 16:15 GMT
> I'd love to know if this makes sense.

Yes, it does - sort of.

You were using mail.app when you got the invalid certificate notice? I
see this occasionally for one mail server that I access. As soon as
someone updates the certificate, it goes away. When that certificate's
expiration comes up, I will see it again unless someone was more on top
of things and got the certificate updated in a timely manner. Apple just
had a major failure with a .mac mail server a few weeks ago. It's also
the middle of the holiday season in the US. So - my guess is someone
simply goofed and the certificate wasn't updated on schedule.

ASIDE: I have a dotmac mail account, use mail.app and haven't seen this
message for this server. I also ran "Get Mail" before posting and it
still was okay. The message did pop up for that other server for one day
last week so I know the notice mechanism in Mail is still working.

For the other - it's not unusual for companies to use akamai.net for
hosting. If not to directly host a particular part of their online
service, it will pick up "overflow." I saw a rumor that Apple was
farming out online support but don't know if that's true or not. Bottom
line, it's up to you but I would be inclined to accept Don's assertion
that he is Apple tech support.

The "sales.liveperson" designation - it may be that Apple's chat
application is used by both their online support and online sales (they
have a link on their store pages for "liveperson" help).

I don't see anything glaringly unusual but when you're checking on a
security certificate, I can understand seeing creepy crawlies everywhere
until the situation is resolved or explained.
Signature

Sharon F

Joe - 31 Dec 2007 00:13 GMT
>> I'd love to know if this makes sense.
>
[quoted text clipped - 8 lines]
> the middle of the holiday season in the US. So - my guess is someone
> simply goofed and the certificate wasn't updated on schedule.

Ahh, didn't know that, thanks.

...

> The "sales.liveperson" designation - it may be that Apple's chat
> application is used by both their online support and online sales (they
[quoted text clipped - 3 lines]
> security certificate, I can understand seeing creepy crawlies everywhere
> until the situation is resolved or explained.

Yeah, maybe I'm being overly paranoid. Thanks

Joe
Signature

To email me shift the letters in my address back one

Bruce Barnett - 31 Dec 2007 12:50 GMT
> Yeah, maybe I'm being overly paranoid. Thanks

IMHO It's a very good idea to have a sense of suspicion when something
unusual occurs.

Signature

Posted via a free Usenet account from http://www.teranews.com

Sharon Fink - 31 Dec 2007 21:48 GMT
> IMHO It's a very good idea to have a sense of suspicion when something
> unusual occurs.

I think so too. I just wish I didn't start itching so much whenever
creepy-crawly mode sets in. I also think it's a good idea to bounce
suspicions against a group like this. Hopefully doing so will yield some
peace of mind and in some cases <ahem> make the itching stop. ;-)
Signature

Sharon F

 
Sign In
Join
My Latest Posts
My Monitored Threads
My Blog
My Photo Gallery
My Profile
My Homepage

Start New Thread
Enable EMail Alerts
Rate this Thread



©2008 Advenet LLC   Privacy Policy - Terms of Use
This website includes both content owned or controlled by Advenet as well as content owned or controlled by third parties.