Home | Contact Us | FAQ | Search & Site Map | Link to Us
Sign In | Join | Other 45 Sites in Network
Home
Discussion Groups
General
GeneralPortable MacsHardwareNetworking
Applications
Mac ApplicationsEudoraFirefox / MozillaInternet ExplorerOutlook ExpressMS OfficeEntourageExcelPowerPointWordVirtual PCMedia PlayerOther MS Products
Programming
Mac ProgrammingCodeWarriorPerl
Country Specific
Australian Mac GroupUK Mac Group

Mac Forum / General / General / August 2006



Tip: Looking for answers? Try searching our database.

Bounced Email -- What's The Story?

Thread view: 
Enable EMail Alerts  Start New Thread
Thread rating: 
TaliesinSoft - 31 Aug 2006 02:15 GMT
Earlier today I sent an email and recived the following "bounce" notice. What
I'm hoping is that someone who understands the "gobbledegeek" that I received
can offer a brief explanation. Was the bounce because I was not allowed to
send or the addressee was not allowed to receive? it would be nice if such a
notice was less than, at least to me, totally obtuse.

========================================
    From:      MAILER-DAEMON@mac.com
    Subject:     Returned mail: see transcript for details
    Date:     August 30, 2006 4:34:22 PM CDT
    To:      taliesinsoft@mac.com

The original message was received at Wed, 30 Aug 2006 14:34:21 -0700 (PDT)
from smtpin08-en2 [10.13.10.153]

  ----- The following addresses had permanent fatal errors -----
<support@divinefiat.com>
   (reason: 550-Message rejected because smtpout.mac.com [17.250.248.171] is
blacklisted at)

  ----- Transcript of session follows -----
... while talking to divinefiat.com.:
DATA
<<< 550-Message rejected because smtpout.mac.com [17.250.248.171] is
blacklisted at
<<< 550-bl.spamcop.net see Blocked - see
http://www.spamcop.net/bl.shtml?17.250.248.171
<<< 550 :
550 5.1.1 <support@divinefiat.com>... User unknown
<<< 503 valid RCPT command must precede DATA
Reporting-MTA: dns; smtpout.mac.com
Received-From-MTA: DNS; smtpin08-en2
Arrival-Date: Wed, 30 Aug 2006 14:34:21 -0700 (PDT)

Final-Recipient: RFC822; support@divinefiat.com
Action: failed
Status: 5.1.1
Remote-MTA: DNS; divinefiat.com
Diagnostic-Code: SMTP; 550-Message rejected because smtpout.mac.com
[17.250.248.171] is blacklisted at
Last-Attempt-Date: Wed, 30 Aug 2006 14:34:22 -0700 (PDT)

From: "James L. Ryan" <taliesinsoft@mac.com>
Date: August 30, 2006 4:34:32 PM CDT
To: support@divinefiat.com
Subject: Workstation Theme

I've paid for and downloaded the Workstation theme. The question now is how
do I include it in the Keynote panel of themes? What I downloaded included
two keynote presentations and two packages, but no documentation. Clicking on
either of the packages results in a "There were errors installing the
software" message.
========================================

Signature

James Leo Ryan ..... Austin, Texas ..... taliesinsoft@mac.com

Dave Balderstone - 31 Aug 2006 02:24 GMT
> Earlier today I sent an email and recived the following "bounce" notice. What
> I'm hoping is that someone who understands the "gobbledegeek" that I received
> can offer a brief explanation. Was the bounce because I was not allowed to
> send or the addressee was not allowed to receive? it would be nice if such a
> notice was less than, at least to me, totally obtuse.

smtpout.mac.com (the mail server you were sending through) has been
blacklisted for some reason by spamcop.net. The server your message was
going to bounced it as a result.
TaliesinSoft - 31 Aug 2006 02:36 GMT
> In article <0001HW.C11BA2500005FD60B019F94F@news.supernews.com>,
> TaliesinSoft <taliesinsoft@mac.com> wrote:
[quoted text clipped - 8 lines]
> blacklisted for some reason by spamcop.net. The server your message was
> going to bounced it as a result.

Dave,

Many thanks for the concise and clear, and not to mention quick, response!

As an aside, it appears that the block has been removed. A short time ago I
was successful in sending an email to the previously bounced address.

Jim

Signature

James Leo Ryan ..... Austin, Texas ..... taliesinsoft@mac.com

Dave Balderstone - 31 Aug 2006 02:56 GMT
> > In article <0001HW.C11BA2500005FD60B019F94F@news.supernews.com>,
> > TaliesinSoft <taliesinsoft@mac.com> wrote:
[quoted text clipped - 15 lines]
> As an aside, it appears that the block has been removed. A short time ago I
> was successful in sending an email to the previously bounced address.

I wondered about that. When I followed the link in the headers you
posted to <http://www.spamcop.net/w3m?action=blcheck&ip=17.250.248.171>
spamcop said it had no info about the server.
D. Kirkpatrick - 31 Aug 2006 03:53 GMT
>    ----- The following addresses had permanent fatal errors -----
> <support@divinefiat.com>
>     (reason: 550-Message rejected because smtpout.mac.com [17.250.248.171] is
> blacklisted at)

This pretty much says it all.  They have the Mac.com address blocked
for spam.

That may mean its on a spam list someplace or flagged by their own
in-house filter.

The IP address appears to have been reported at McFadden for spam on
Aug 30.  It may or may not have been removed from that service by now.

DMK
 
Sign In
Join
My Latest Posts
My Monitored Threads
My Blog
My Photo Gallery
My Profile
My Homepage

Start New Thread
Enable EMail Alerts
Rate this Thread



©2008 Advenet LLC   Privacy Policy - Terms of Use
This website includes both content owned or controlled by Advenet as well as content owned or controlled by third parties.