Home | Contact Us | FAQ | Search & Site Map | Link to Us
Sign In | Join | Other 45 Sites in Network
Home
Discussion Groups
General
GeneralPortable MacsHardwareNetworking
Applications
Mac ApplicationsEudoraFirefox / MozillaInternet ExplorerOutlook ExpressMS OfficeEntourageExcelPowerPointWordVirtual PCMedia PlayerOther MS Products
Programming
Mac ProgrammingCodeWarriorPerl
Country Specific
Australian Mac GroupUK Mac Group

Mac Forum / Applications / Mac Applications / May 2007



Tip: Looking for answers? Try searching our database.

Someone is fraudulently using my email adress for a pyramid scam

Thread view: 
Enable EMail Alerts  Start New Thread
Thread rating: 
drummingdavidson@gmail.com - 16 May 2007 11:29 GMT
There are a bunch of pyramid scam posts showing up on google group
pages in my name.  It is not me posting.  For moderators of the groups
please remove them.  For anyone reading them it is a scam and it is
illegal and it is a federal felony.  My apologies, I did not realize
this was happening until receiving emails from some of the group
moderators.
Jolly Roger - 16 May 2007 16:32 GMT
> There are a bunch of pyramid scam posts showing up on google group
> pages in my name.  It is not me posting.  For moderators of the groups
> please remove them.  For anyone reading them it is a scam and it is
> illegal and it is a federal felony.  My apologies, I did not realize
> this was happening until receiving emails from some of the group
> moderators.

*sigh*   Clueless Windows users...

Your machine has likely been hijacked and is now part of a spam bot
net.  Do the responsible thing and unplug it from the internet until
you've rectified the situation (throwing that PC in the dumpster and
getting a Mac might be a good start).

Signature

JR

G.T. - 16 May 2007 19:17 GMT
>> There are a bunch of pyramid scam posts showing up on google group
>> pages in my name.  It is not me posting.  For moderators of the groups
[quoted text clipped - 9 lines]
> you've rectified the situation (throwing that PC in the dumpster and
> getting a Mac might be a good start).

Interesting.  The original spam post was made with OS X and Safari.
Perhaps it was his Mac that was infected, he tossed it, and moved back
to Windows.

Or more likely someone got his gmail account credentials somehow,
possibly through a phishing attack.

Or even more likely, he's full of sh.t, he sent out the original spam,
got scared when his accounts were closed, and is now trying to cover his
tracks.

Greg

Signature

The ticketbastard Tax Tracker:
http://www.ticketmastersucks.org/tracker.html

Dethink to survive - Mclusky

Jolly Roger - 16 May 2007 19:53 GMT
>>> There are a bunch of pyramid scam posts showing up on google group
>>> pages in my name.  It is not me posting.  For moderators of the groups
[quoted text clipped - 11 lines]
>
> Interesting.  The original spam post was made with OS X and Safari.

Oohh was it?  I hadn't looked at the headers of the SPAM.

> Perhaps it was his Mac that was infected, he tossed it, and moved back
> to Windows.

Doubt it.

> Or more likely someone got his gmail account credentials somehow,
> possibly through a phishing attack.

I think you've probably hit the nail on the head there.  Possibly a
"friend" of his has access to his email account and is playing a nasty
practical joke on him.

> Or even more likely, he's full of sh.t, he sent out the original spam,
> got scared when his accounts were closed, and is now trying to cover
> his tracks.

That's certainly possible as well.

Signature

JR

Mike Rosenberg - 16 May 2007 20:02 GMT
> > Or even more likely, he's full of sh.t, he sent out the original spam,
> > got scared when his accounts were closed, and is now trying to cover
> > his tracks.
>
> That's certainly possible as well.

Well, no, since both posts were made via Google Groups using the same
gmail address, so his accounts were _not_ closed.

Signature

<http://designsbymike.biz/macconsultshop.shtml> Mac-themed T-shirts
<http://designsbymike.biz/musings.shtml> Humorous/muckraking T-shirts
<http://designsbymike.biz/prius.shtml> Prius shirts & bumper stickers
<http://cafepress.com/comedancing> Ballroom dance-themed shirts & gift

Jolly Roger - 16 May 2007 20:10 GMT
>>> Or even more likely, he's full of sh.t, he sent out the original spam,
>>> got scared when his accounts were closed, and is now trying to cover
[quoted text clipped - 4 lines]
> Well, no, since both posts were made via Google Groups using the same
> gmail address, so his accounts were _not_ closed.

Still, he may be trying to cover his tracks, right?

Signature

JR

Mike Rosenberg - 16 May 2007 20:27 GMT
> > Well, no, since both posts were made via Google Groups using the same
> > gmail address, so his accounts were _not_ closed.
>
> Still, he may be trying to cover his tracks, right?

Oh yes, absolutely, he may be trying to cover his tracks, but his
accounts aren't closed.

Signature

<http://designsbymike.biz/macconsultshop.shtml> Mac-themed T-shirts
<http://designsbymike.biz/musings.shtml> Humorous/muckraking T-shirts
<http://designsbymike.biz/prius.shtml> Prius shirts & bumper stickers
<http://cafepress.com/comedancing> Ballroom dance-themed shirts & gift

G.T. - 16 May 2007 22:36 GMT
>> > Well, no, since both posts were made via Google Groups using the same
>> > gmail address, so his accounts were _not_ closed.
[quoted text clipped - 3 lines]
> Oh yes, absolutely, he may be trying to cover his tracks, but his
> accounts aren't closed.

I just mentioned that because when I was in Google Groups it said his
account was closed.  In fact, it still does:  "This account has been banned
because it violated the Google Groups Terms Of Use."

Greg
Signature

Ticketbastard tax tracker:
http://ticketmastersucks.org/tracker.html

Dethink to survive - Mclusky

Mike Rosenberg - 16 May 2007 22:43 GMT
> I just mentioned that because when I was in Google Groups it said his
> account was closed.  In fact, it still does:  "This account has been
> banned because it violated the Google Groups Terms Of Use."

Huh.  I wonder how he managed to make another post to Google Groups
using the same email address.  Of course, your post was some eight hours
after he started this thread, so there was plenty of time for them to
have closed his account in between.

Signature

<http://designsbymike.biz/macconsultshop.shtml> Mac-themed T-shirts
<http://designsbymike.biz/musings.shtml> Humorous/muckraking T-shirts
<http://designsbymike.biz/prius.shtml> Prius shirts & bumper stickers
<http://cafepress.com/comedancing> Ballroom dance-themed shirts & gift

G.T. - 17 May 2007 00:07 GMT
>> I just mentioned that because when I was in Google Groups it said his
>> account was closed.  In fact, it still does:  "This account has been
[quoted text clipped - 4 lines]
> after he started this thread, so there was plenty of time for them to
> have closed his account in between.

Good riddance.

Greg
Signature

"What have you got in that paper bag?
Is it a dose of Vitamin C?
Ain't got no time for Western medicine
I am Damo Suzuki" - Mark E Smith

 
Sign In
Join
My Latest Posts
My Monitored Threads
My Blog
My Photo Gallery
My Profile
My Homepage

Start New Thread
Enable EMail Alerts
Rate this Thread



©2009 Advenet LLC   Privacy Policy - Terms of Use
This website includes both content owned or controlled by Advenet as well as content owned or controlled by third parties.